Posted by in News | Comments Off on 34 COUNCILLORS TOOK AN OATH

Recently at Gando village in Lady Frere (Cacadu), ward 6 Emalahleni Local Municipality was among many municipalities throughout the country to arrange the inauguration meeting for the Councillors to take an oath of office to serve the people.

Out of thirty four seats the African National Congress won 28, Democratic Alliance 4, Economic Freedom Fighters 1 and United Democratic Movement 1.

This First Ordinary Council meeting was observed by hordes of community members, sector departments, political parties to be represented in the Council, religious fraternity, traditional leaders, all structures of the locality and members of the media.

As legislated the session was chaired by the Municipal Manager Dr Sitembele Wiseman Vatala who facilitated the process up until the nomination of the Speaker of Council, Councillor Dumisa Kalolo who was nominated unopposed. Immediately he chaired the meeting to finalise the Council business of the day.

Eight members of the Executive Committee were elected as there were five positions, this was decided on the ballot and five members emerged victorious to lead various municipal departments. Councillor Mcebisi Limba portfolio head Budget and Treasury Office, Ncedisa Mtyobile portfolio head Economic Development Tourism and Agriculture, Nolitha Lali portfolio head Infrastructure Development and Human Settlement, Councillor Thandeka Kulashe Corporate Services and Councillor Sibha Liwani portfolio head Community Services.

Councillor Nomveliso Nyukwana was elected unopposed as the Mayor of Emalahleni Local Municipality to lead for the second term from 2016-2021.

Councillor Nolitha Lali was nominated as the Chief Whip of Council.

Phikiswa Mapete was nominated as the Chairperson of the Municipal Public Accounts Committee.

When accepting an enormous task of leading the municipality for a period of five years Councillor Nomveliso Nyukwana said, “I