About  //  - Gallery

Emalahleni Local Municipality is a category B municipality situated within the Chris Hani District Municipality of the Eastern Cape province. It has 17 wards which service the three main towns, namely Lady Frere, where the main offices are, Indwe and Dordrecht; and surrounding villages of Lady Frere, as the other two towns have urban locations and farms.


A municipality that delivers appropriate, sustainable and affordable services towards socio-economic growth for the development of its community.


Emalahleni Municipality promotes quality and excellent services that are valued by its customers through effective partnerships and active community participation as it plans for the future.

Official Twinning between Dordrecht-Emalahleni and Dordrecht-Netherlands

Bond of friendship and co-operation between the municipality of Emalahleni/Dordrecht in South Africa and Dordrecht in the Netherlands. read more

Chris Hani District Municipality Population Distribution (Census 2011)




Intsika Yethu Local Municipality 145,372 18
Lukhanji Local Municipality 190,723 24
Engcobo Local Municipality 155,513 20
Emalahleni Local Municipality 119,460 15
Inxuba Yethemba Local Municipality 65,560 15
Sakhisizwe Local Municipality 63,582 8
Tsolwana Local Municipality 33,281 4
Inkwanca Local Municipality 21,971 3
Chris Hani District Municipality 21,971 100

Emalahleni Locality Map